Best Paper Award (BPA)

Exciting science is at the heart of our Department. However, it is often a long and winding road until novel findings are finally published in recognized peer-reviewed journals. To honor new, innovative, and visibly published discoveries in Biological Sciences and Life Science by members of our faculty, each semester the Department of Biology announces the "Best Paper Award". Twice a year, a 3-person jury consisting of members of the faculty selects a maximum of three accepted papers to be honored and rewarded with €200,-/each. The award ceremony takes place during the final Fachbereichsseminar of the Semester, when the award(s) will be handed over and the awardees will showcase their findings. Ultimately, this award is intended to recognize junior researchers and fellows of our graduate schools, which go the extra mile for publishing their experimental work in respected journals within their fields.

Congratulations to the Awardees in WS 2023/24:

Awardees of the best paper award in winter semester 2023/24

Previous Awardees:

SS 2023

WS 22/23

SS 2022

WS 21/22

SS 2021

  • Nils Rädecker
    „Heat stress destabilizes symbiotic nutrient cycling in corals“
    Nils Rädecker, Claudia Pogoreutz, Hagen M. Gegner, Anny Cárdenas, Florian Roth, Jeremy Bougoure, Paul Guagliardo, Christian Wild, Mathieu Pernice, Jean-Baptiste Raina, Anders Meibom and Christian R. Voolstra
    PNAS ; accepted: 18 Dec 2020; published: 26 Jan 2021
  • Truong San Phan
    „Keratinocytes control skin immune homeostasis through de novo–synthesized glucocorticoids“
    Truong San Phan, Leonhard Schink, JasminMann, Verena M. Merk, Pascale Zwicky, Sarah Mundt, Dagmar Simon, Dagmar Kulms, Susanne Abraham, Daniel F. Legler, Mario Noti and Thomas Brunner
    Science Advances ; accepted: 10 Dec 2020 ; published: 29 Jan 2021
  • Trevor S. Fristoe
    „Dimensions of invasiveness: Links between localabundance, geographic range size, and habitat breadthin Europe’s alien and native floras“
    Trevor S. Fristoe, Milan Chytrý, Wayne Dawson, Franz Essl, Ruben Heleno, Holger Kreft, Noëlie Maurel, Jan Pergl, Petr Pyšek, Hanno Seebens, Patrick Weigelt, Pablo Vargas, Qiang Yang, Fabio Attorre, Erwin Bergmeier, Markus Bernhardt-Römermann, Idoia Biurrun, Steffen Boch, Gianmaria Bonari, Zoltán Botta-Dukát, Hans Henrik Bruun, Chaeho Byun, AndrazCarni, Maria Laura Carranza, Jane A. Catford, Bruno E. L. Cerabolini, Eduardo Chacón-Madrigal, Daniela Ciccarelli, Renata Cušterevska, Iris de Ronde, Jürgen Dengler, Valentin Golub, Rense Haveman, Nate Hough-Snee, Ute Jandt, Florian Jansen, Anna Kuzemko, Filip Küzmič, Jonathan Lenoir, Armin Macanovic, Corrado Marcenò, Adam R. Martin, Sean T. Michaletz, Akira S. Mori, Ülo Niinemets, TomášPeterka, Remigiusz Pielech, Valerijus Rašomavičius, Solvita Rusiŋa, Arildo S. Dias, Mária Šibíková, Urban Šilc, Angela Stanisci, Steven Jansen,Jens-Christian Svenning, Grzegorz Swacha, Fons van der Plas, Kiril Vassilev, and Mark van Kleunen
    PNAS ; accepted 12: Apr 2020 ; published: 28 May 2021

WS 20/21

WS 19/20

SS 2019

WS 18/19

SS 2018

WS 17/18

SS 2017

WS 16/17